Measured Love

“For this reason I bow my knees to the Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, from whom the whole family in heaven and earth is named, that He would grant you, according to the riches of His glory, to be strengthened with might through His Spirit in the inner man, that Christ may dwell in your hearts through faith; that you, being rooted and grounded in love, may be able to comprehend with all the saints what is the width and length and depth and height— to know the love of Christ which passes knowledge; that you may be filled with all the fullness of God.

Now to Him who is able to do exceedingly abundantly above all that we ask or think, according to the power that works in us, to Him be glory in the church by Christ Jesus to all generations, forever and ever. Amen.” Ephesians 3:14-21 (NKJV)

What a perfect day to talk about comprehending the measure of God’s Love. About 2000 years ago God came down in the weakest form, never sinned despite being tempted in every way, lived until His Mid-thirties and then suffered and died as if He was the worst of sinners. He paid our debt and took our punishment, bearing our sicknesses and our pains. He was tortured and executed by a people who prided themselves on being able to inflict the maximum amount of pain upon a living being. He called out for forgiveness for His murderers. He died with His mother and friends looking on. He was buried in a rich man’s tomb. And for many there the story ends.

However for us who know Him as Savior, Lord, Brother and Friend we know the story doesn’t end there. On the third day His tomb was found to be empty and that same day He appeared to many who loved Him. He proceeded to appear to more than 500 people at the same time. He then went to Heaven to sit at the Right hand of the Father until He calls us home. However, He promises in John 18:14  “I will not leave you orphans; I will come to you.”. What a beautiful promise of His love and future return to bring us home. 

So for those of us who know His love I ask this simple question. Are you able to comprehend His love? I know for me it is hard. Ever since Summer Camp 2012 I have had an unanswered question that surfaces every now and then. “Why do you love me?” I have never received a solid answer. I can say with confidence however that I am rooted and grounded in His love for me today.

The most special moments in my life are when I in some small or large way have a moment of comprehension of His love. Well… maybe comprehension is the wrong word. The moments I am overtly aware of His love. These moments are overwhelming. Like this morning. I went to an early service at a church and was pleasantly surprised by my Best Friend sitting in a back pew and we were joined, not long after, by two young women who are as close as Sisters to us. This combined with the sweetest old couple sitting next to me and the old hymns we sang as the sun shone through the classic stain glass windows and the organ played. This whole scene played out and I honestly could have cried it was so beautiful. I had the overwhelming sense of being Loved by God. I was at a church that felt like home with a Family God had given me, with worship that brought me back to the simplicity of the love of a Child for His Father, all in order to worship and learn and celebrate the Resurrection of Jesus Christ and defeat of Death and payment for Sins. O what Love the Father has for Us.

Before I end this post I would like to address anyone who is not a Christian, who may by some chance, be reading this. Whether you believe in God or not, whether you are a good person or the worst sinner, whether you believe the Bible or not, God wants you to know this. He Loves you so much. You aren’t alone. He knows you completely and He loves you totally. He doesn’t ask that you be perfect because He knows you can’t be. He asks one thing. That you come to Him like a Child comes to His Father. He can hear you and He is not unaware of your life, your struggles and your pains.

Romans 10:9 says, “that if you confess with your mouth the Lord Jesus and believe in your heart that God has raised Him from the dead, you will be saved.”

If you have any questions, comments, or concerns please contact me. I would love to talk with you, hear your story and hopefully be able to answer any questions you have or, God willing, help you grow closer to God, because He wants you and loves you even if you don’t want Him or love Him.

Happy Easter Everyone,

Just a COG

Leave a Reply

