Father Daughter Dancing

Recently I had the amazing opportunity to take an 8 year old girl from my Church to a Father Daughter Dance. The Girl’s father has been out of the picture for awhile and she lives with her Grandmother. Her Grandmother approached me at Church before Sunday School and asked me if I would be willing to take her to the dance. She explained that no prominent male figure in her life would be available and that it would mean a lot to her if I could take her. How could I say no? This opportunity to be there for an amazing Child of God was too amazing to pass up.

I am the youngest brother of two older sisters and I am single currently. I have expressed to God my desire to have a younger sister and eventually a daughter and wife. In this period of singleness He has blessed me with a position of brotherhood to three of my best friend’s little sisters, as well as this amazing opportunity to be a Father for a day. He is so good!

After cleaning myself up for the big night, I show up to her Grandmother’s house dressed in a Pink dress shirt and black vest (She told me on her birthday that Pink was her favorite color) and there she was in a beautiful blue dress. Here elementary school was two blocks away and so we did the most classy thing we could… we raced there on foot!! (She beat me by a long shot since I didn’t know where I was going)

After eating dinner with her best friend and her Father we proceeded to go get dessert, at which point she explained her favorite color was actually blue. After making a total mess with dessert and not eating all of her dinner we decided to go inside to “dance”. It didn’t take long for me to figure out she preferred playing Tag than dancing. Me and her best friend’s Father proceeded to play tag with her and her best friend throughout the dance occasionally talking and attempting to dance.

While her and her best friend were off chasing each other through the mass of Little Girls and Fathers dancing to “Gangnam Style”, me and her best friend’s Father had a good conversation. He explained to me that she was not his actual daughter nor was she officially “adopted”. Her biological Father maintained rights as Father but essentially didn’t want to do any of the work. But her “Step Dad” explained that her biological Father was missing out on the Best Daughter ever and the most special moments with her. This attitude blew me away. This man was willing to do all the work of a Father with none of the credit but simply the Love of a Daughter not officially his. Talk about love. It brought to my mind God’s love for us and how He has adopted us even though we often don’t even call Him Father but settle for “Step-Dad”. Yet He still Loves us. He still shows us the perfect example of a Father Loving His Child. Adopted or not.

“I will not leave you orphans; I will come to you.” John 14:18

“Jesus answered and said to him, “If anyone loves Me, he will keep My word; and My Father will love him, and We will come to him and make Our home with him. He who does not love Me does not keep My words; and the word which you hear is not Mine but the Father’s who sent Me.” John 14:23-24

“As the Father loved Me, I also have loved you; abide in My love.  If you keep My commandments, you will abide in My love, just as I have kept My Father’s commandments and abide in His love.” John 5:9-10

 

An appropriate end to this Hallmark story began with the last dance. A beautiful song started and she agreed to dance with me as all the Daughters danced with their Fathers. It was a waltz. We swayed back and forth and spun each other a couple times, laughing as she struggled to turn me. The song was ending and all the Fathers were hugging their daughters, And then it happened… The worst smelling fart I have ever smelled. We both laughed as we quickly left the area and raced each other home to play dodgeball until it was time for me to head home.

This beautiful experience was a memory for both of us to cherish… and a smell to hopefully forget.

Leave a Reply

